Character Flaws

Finishing my epic D&D4e game, I felt awesome for winning D&D, but at the same time felt really sad because it marked the end of an age. Things got really complicated in my life personally, with my seminary grad school taking a turn for the hectic and time consuming as well as taking on extra work hours at the church I work at (fortunately with increased pay). So yah, life is a little interesting. This unfortunately meant that my gaming has taken a back burner, which is fine, but it is still something I really enjoy, but my old gaming group has jumped into a Mouse Guard campaign while my wife and I have stepped out of playing with them. It’s awesome that they are still gaming (since our D&D campaign was their first experience with tabletop RPGs), but now I have a gaming itch and am trying to figure out what will scratch it.

Given the playtest nature of D&Dnext, I have had a hard time wanting to jump back into a full term D&D4e campaign. I like shiny new things. I admit that freely. It’s hard for me to stick with something for a long time. I gave the playtest for D&Dnext a whirl while I was on vacation and really enjoyed it (I liked what I saw too), but it was really more of a one shot and that just doesn’t fit what an ongoing campaign provides for me. With the fluctuating nature of a playtest environment, I don’t think the time for D&Dnext as a long term game is in my future…YET.

So I’m systems shopping. Right after my 4e game ended, I picked up some new game rulebooks just to get a feel for what else was out there not because I was dissatisfied, but because why not? This became my new problem and a couple of weeks ago, I sat down with a group of guys (actually the first group of players I ran through Keep on the Shadowfell almost 4 years ago) to discuss starting a game and specifically what system we wanted to explore.

I brought D&D4e (because it is still special to me), the D&DNext playtest, 13th Age, Dungeon World, Savage Worlds, and the Marvel Heroic Role Playing Game to the table as options to explore and try out. Several of the guys knew I was already working on a campaign setting (originally to be part of 4e) that was largely inspired by Chris Perkins’ Iomandra setting (there is something about a nautical exploration that really gets my imagination turning). High adventure on the sea just lends itself to interesting story and situations, plus the constant change of new islands to explore and conquer. So with ideas of exploring my custom medieval fantasy setting, we crossed out Marvel and most the guys weren’t particularly interested in fiddling with 4e or Next. We got excited about Dungeon World, but the limitations on races and classes shelved it for another day. So that left Savage Worlds and 13th Age. I was excited about both and see some really cool possibilities in each, but it was the imagination-inspiring Icons of 13th Age that pushed us over the edge. Even though 13th Age is still in Escalation Edition and still very much being playtested, it has some really fun mechanics for combat and conflict resolution that just clicked for us.


So we started character generation (and I realized just how much I had to learn about the system still) and this is where things got interesting. We decided to roll ability scores instead of using an array. As a group of self-professing, former power gamers they all expressed the need for as much help as possible in avoiding the roadblocks of min/maxing. Rolling stats is something I’ve NEVER done in a game before and I was anxious to see if the risk in straying from the array would be as worth it as everyone has told me.

Everyone started the process rolling pretty decently. Not quite as high as the point score array, but not terrible. That is until one of the guys rolled a 4. Yup. Three 1s and a 2. Wow. Almost as low as he could possibly roll. After we stopped laughing, the poor guy (who also had the only 17 in the group) started figuring out just what to do with that tremendous liability. As we were deciding classes and races, he decided to play a halfling sorcerer with a Strength of 4. He figured he would embrace the concept of the glass cannon and run with it. That’s when things started to get weird/fun. He decided that his halfling was born with no muscles, almost jokingly, and we ran with it. What if when he was born due to his disability, his parents made a deal with the Lich King (one of the powerful Icons in the 13th Age setting) and his body was infused with a necromantic brace system made of bones that give him the ability to walk and function, but also mark him as the Lich King’s? Dang. That is one interesting unique thing.

As I thought about it, I realized that the flaw this character had and the story possibilities that arise from his attempt to overcome it are going to become one of the biggest parts of our campaign. Not only is this amazing for our game, but it’s huge in life. Walking through the difficulties in life is one of those things that we play games to avoid or to walk past, but I have found that in games having a defining flaw or struggle can create those awesome moments that live on in your stories. What’s really cool about this benefits of having this unique character flaw is that this is something I believe is incredibly important in real life as well as at the gaming table.

As I’ve mentioned before here, I am a Christian and contrary to popular belief that doesn’t mean I think you have to live a perfect life. In fact, I find that it is the imperfections and weaknesses in myself that make my faith all that more real. One of my favorite passages in the Bible is a section from the second letter to the church in Corinth (in Greece). Paul (who wrote most of the New Testament) wrote the letter and in it he said this,

Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. ” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:6-10)

Paul was one of the most educated Jews of his day. He was a teacher and incredibly well respected. He actually had a lot to boast about, but he mentions in his letter that there was a “thorn in his flesh,” that would not leave him alone. Despite all the incredible things he had come to believe about himself, he lacked control of himself. And even though he asked God to take it away, it remained. Paul asked God to do some pretty incredible stuff and his letters are full of how God answered those prayers, so why didn’t God remove this physical ailment/problem/struggle from him?

Having a struggle in life and overcoming it on your own strength is a huge testament in the depth of your character and your own personal strength and perseverance. In real life (and even at the game table) there come times where the problem is deeper than we can handle and we begin to lose hope. In that place of weakness, when Paul was frustrated and feeling weak, the things that God was doing through him were even more visible. Because he was weak, he had to depend on a God who was not.

So how is that going to look in my 13th Age game? I’m not entirely sure. There isn’t going to be a miracle cure (i.e. stat raising potion or boon) for my player with the 4 strength. I want to see just where this takes him and in what ways he is able to overcome his own weakness. Suffice to say, it should make for some interesting storytelling.

4 responses to “Character Flaws

  • Grant W

    And “Physical handicaps and physical infirmities” just got added to the Saving the Game episode topics list. Great post with great ideas! Please keep us updated on how this ends up working out for you; I’m really intrigued and want to know how (a) your player handles the character, and (b) how the character grows (if at all) in-game.

    I’ve played a character like this myself (a D&D 3.5 cleric with a Dex of 4, in fact) but only as a minor character who didn’t get developed very much in-game.

    Good stuff; please keep posting, because I will keep coming back to learn!

    • RaiseDead

      I’m so glad you enjoyed! I’m planning on keeping track of how this fits with my player and exactly how the weakest little runt of a halfling pulls off life in the dangerous world.

  • davidbgoode

    I remember BEGGING to play a blind cleric in a game in college. The DM and the player who was supposed to play my brother both refused. So we played a single session I have no memory of in which I played a very blah cleric instead, and the game fizzled.

Leave a Reply

